Geek and you shall find.

Short stories from Nobody

After my long stay in Malaysia, a Malaysian friend of mine said “My girlfriend told me I’m fat already. It’s because I met this Filipino guy who I always bring to where the good food is.” Hospitality can really cost us new sets of clothes. I felt a bit guilty, so I tried to come up with fast solutions. If David Copperfield can make the statue of liberty disappear and David Blane can levitate on the air, there must be a way to make a fat person thin right?

 

Luckily I remembered the Ebbinghaus illusion. It is a type of optical illusion where the perceived size of an object is biased to grow or to shrink by the relative size of other objects surrounding it. The diagram below can better give you an idea of what I mean.

 

change the circles to people

 

 

 

Just replace the circles with actual people and the magic is revealed. Using that logic, I told him, not to worry. I said “next time you see your girlfriend just be sure, you bring your fatter friends with you”. But the plan backfired as he ended up saying “maybe I’ll bring you next time”.

 

~ Nobody

3 responses

  1. hahaha, so funny! =)

    October 15, 2008 at 2:19 pm

  2. Puck

    hahaha! it kinda makes you wish you just suggested going to the gym, or wearing black or vertical stripes. good one, nobody!

    October 15, 2008 at 3:25 pm

  3. Hahahahahaha. Nobody, I think the diagram represents you in the Malaysian crowd, in contrast with you in the midst of us Decoders. I’ve never thought of it that way! hahaha.

    Be healthy! :D

    October 15, 2008 at 10:13 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.